Towards Solar Decathlon China 2017 – Second Technical Training Workshop, arranged by SD China 2017 Organizing Committee

Published: 28/01/2017
Dezhou, Shandong Province – China, January 12th-15th

The second Technical Training Workshop of Solar Decathlon China 2017 has been hosted in mid-January in Dezhou, Shandong Province, the city where the twenty-two international teams involved in the competition will finally build their solar houses, and where the exhibition and the contest will take place.

Rendering of the exhibition site, with the 22 solar houses

PoliTO-SCUT team participated to the meeting with both the Italian and Chinese scientific coordinators – Profs. Mauro Berta (PoliTO) and Zhong Guanqiu (SCUT) – and with a delegation of 12 Chinese students.

The students of PoliTO-SCUT team’s delegation with the scientific coordinators, Profs. Mauro Berta and Zhong Guanqiu, and with Richard King, Director of Solar Decathlon. 

In the meeting a number of technical and practical topics have been discussed as, for instance, competition rules and scheduling, instrumentation and scoring system, grid connection, foundations etc.; a survey of the groups on the construction site has been conducted in order to make the teams aware of the physical features and of the technical constraints of the area.

A public presentation of the projects to Dezhou’s local Authoritites has been organized as well; the Mayor of the city, Mr. Chen Fei, spent a couple of hours examining the models of the 22 houses and discussing every proposal with the international teams.

Team PoliTO-SCUT. Views of the draft model

During the event two major lectures have been organized, with the participation of Liu Xiaodu, renowned architect in China, cofounder of URBANUS firm, and Brian Lee, Design Partner of SOM.

The work of PoliTO-SCUT team will have a new milestone in late February 2017, when a new intensive workshop of the team will take place in Guangzhou, with the Chinese and Italian students and Profs. Sun, Berta, Zhong, Cao and Xu.

(Mauro Berta)

© Politecnico di Torino - Credits